“All About Me” Poem–7 year old vs 37 year old

20130510-085816.jpg
I remember the little writing projects and assignments we had when I was in school; I loved those and always took full advantage of writing them and worked really extra hard to make them perfect. Except that here’s the thing about all about me poems, in particular. . They are supposed to be very spur-of-the-moment and express what we are feeling at the moment. There’s no time for perfection in an all about me poem. The poem is supposed to be completely centered, and in my daughter’s, they were supposed to be shaped like an orange; only problem with that is you have to adjust what you write to the specifications of a specific shape.

Here’s my 13 year old daughter’s about me poem from 2nd grade at Arnold Adreani Elementary:

20130510-094636.jpg

It reads:
Nadia
tall, blond hair, blue eyes, short arms
relative of 1 yunger brother, 1 older brother, 2 older sisters
Lover of Jonas Brothers, family music
Who feels tired, happy, busy
Who needs music, friends, family
Who fears guns knifes, sharkes
Who would like to see Jonas Brothers, Hannah Montana,
Sprouse Brothers
Resident of Sacremento
Stockton

Because I thought this was so neat and I wondered if I could make one that seemed more mature, more my age–I wrote one on myself…here it is:

Jenni
Blonde, hazel eyes, olive skin
Mother of three, wife, best friend, sister-in-law
Lover of grunge/death metal, writing, art, beauty in everyday things…
Feels overjoyed, blessed, motivated, excited…
Needs acceptance, understanding, peace, love
Would like to be able to afford all my kids want, even just all they need all the time.
Love of my residency of Elk Grove
Stockton

his is a very fun poem to write. I have been wanting to write poetry for so long, my problem is I want my writing to be perfectly formatted all of the time. Poetry isn’t formatted perfectly. I’m going to have to work on that… I would love everyone to post a comment with their All About Me poem and I will take all of them and put them in a post sometime next week…it would be fun to see everyone’s poems! Come on guys I’m counting on you!

2 Comments

  1. This blog design is steller! You obviously know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your fabulous pictures, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool! I have subscribed and will definitely be back for more of your witty and heart renching material!

    Like

We Encourage Everyone to Share Their Thoughts with Lulubelle7537

