“I believe that…

“I believe that no matter how many mistakes we’ve made; how badly we’ve really, really screwed up; how old, worn out, or dejected we’ve become; as long as there is true, steadfast ambition, all of us have an opportunity for greatness…” ~Dave Pelzer

In 2008 I was involved in a terrible drunk-driving accident which was a very traumatic time in my life…the night after it occurred, ashamed, embarrassed, and without a beautiful new Infiniti M45, I went to work–as the GM of a sports bar. I was so afraid of what everyone was going to say and think about me after that. I will never forget what one of the first people said to me when I walked behind the bar to talk to the bartender that night; everyone was talking about my DUI, it was a pretty horrific one~as I got into an accident. It was absolutely a nightmare I would just as soon forget. One of our regular customers said to me, “Opportunity comes from disaster, Jen”… I will never forget that. I had that saying drawn into a Kanji tattoo by the father of one of my son’s close friends who is Chinese, and ever since then I have planned on getting that tattoo down my side. I love that saying, it’s a Hebrew Proverb. It is very meaningful to me, and this quote is also meaningful to me by Dave Pelzer because I have read his amazing, heart-wrenching books about his horrific childhood of abuse at the hands of his mother. 

4 Comments

    1. Suzie I also read Dave Pelzer’s two unbelievably sad books in the span of a week, did you completely cry your eyes out? I had to stop reading both of them quite a few times. I’m so glad to hear feedback from someone else who read them!

      Like

We Encourage Everyone to Share Their Thoughts with Lulubelle7537

