Is “Under God” a Violation of Our Civil Rights?

Once again, the inclusion of “Under God” in the Pledge of Allegiance is before the Supreme Court. This time, however, it is being argued that the statement violates the equal rights of atheist students. In 2004 Elk Grove Unified School District et al. vs Newdow went before the Supreme Court arguing a “violation of each student’s right to freedom of religion” and the case lost. It has gone before the Supreme Court on more than one occasion, to be more accurate~ people just love to have something to bitch about! 20130911-072004.jpg

What do you know about the Pledge of Allegiance? It was written in 1892, but the words in question–“Under God”, weren’t added until 1954 by President Dwight Eisenhower. A much larger percentage of Americans in the 1950’s believed in God or, more accurately, claimed to in the face of a much more harsh, unforgiving, and judgmental society than the one we are accustomed to today.

First of all I would like to say that I am proud of where I have lived for the majority of my sixteen-year marriage~ Elk Grove, California. That’s right…it was here that the last fight up to the Supreme Court to have GOD removed from the Pledge of Allegiance took place; but I was highly ashamed of where I lived during that time. Because the law clearly states that it is against the law for a teacher or student who choose not to participate in the P of A to be in any way punished. Come on, case closed people!

I myself am Agnostic and both my 18 year old son and my 13 year old daughter consider themselves to be atheist–despite my explanation to them that they went to church for quite a few years and they should really only question the existence of God. But still, putting that aside~ I believe the Pledge to be part of school, and it does not offend me in the least. As a matter of fact, it does offend me that people go to such great lengths to express their individuality and to fight for their right to equality–or rather, their child’s equality, who probably doesn’t even understand what Mom or Dad is doing! NOW SIT THE HELL DOWN AND KEEP YOUR MOUTHS SHUT IF YOU DON’T LIKE IT! Tell your child to put their damn little head down on the desk and let the rest of the class do what you should be doing.

What incredibly angers me about parents like this, is that they are actually interfering with whatever beliefs their child may have or be destined to have! Jesus Chriminy–I have never once, EVER, told my children what I believe about God or what my questions are, unless they have asked. You’re probably wondering why they question the existence of God. Because my children, like me, are children of science; they believe in Darwinism because to them, as to me, that is what makes sense and is believable, what is provable.

But the P of A doesn’t ask that anyone believe in God. I don’t even, in all honesty, think of the word God as it used in the P of A, to mean one specific God. It’s a tradition, in my eyes, and there is nothing at all wrong with my children reciting the Pledge each morning at school. I believe the Supreme Court will rule against the plaintiffs in this case and if that’s the case, LEAVE IT ALONE PEOPLE! My goodness, it’s just one word~ now find something else to bitch about!

We Encourage Everyone to Share Their Thoughts with Lulubelle7537

