How Can HeRoiN Be LeGaL?

That’s exactly what Oxycontin is.  Prescription Heroin. Nothing more, nothing less. I know because I have been there, I was severely addicted to Oxycontin from late 2009 to early 2010. Just six months. But those six months changed my life forever and there’s absolutely nothing I can do to “undo” the damage that was done to my family, to my marriage, to my children, to my future–as a result of my raging addiction to Oxycontin. It forever altered me. In some ways I am very grateful because I have become a stronger, better, more positive and self-aware person.

In other ways, on the other hand; I am bitter and angry and resentful that it happened to me. I recently viewed a video on YouTube which brought this sore subject to the surface again for me and got me to thinking about this topic, a topic which has ruled my life the last few years and which completely destroyed my beautiful family. How does one ever get over that?

My article on HubPages received some attention recently as well, leading Oxycontin to be on my mind a lot the last few days. I want to do something to help others be aware how addictive and destructive this narcotic painkiller really is, and how it has been proven to be incorrectly marketed as a safe, long-term opiate painkiller with few side effects and a “lower potential for abuse”, according to Purdue Pharma, the manufacturer of Oxycontin. In all actuality, Oxycontin is the most addictive and dangerous drug to ever be manufactured in America.

 

Its really frustrating to me because I was one of the lucky ones, really…I was off six months after I started. It was the longest six months of my life. Nobody in my family credits me at all with doing something spectacular by getting myself off that nasty narcotic such a short time after starting it. What I’m most proud of in my feat is this: I absolutely loved how Oxycontin made me feel to the point I was taking upwards of 800mg per day after just three short months. I felt fabulous. I loved it. But I knew it was going to kill me at the rate I was going. I made myself wean down. It was an incredible use of my willpower.

Yet people still call me a junkie, just because I had such a tough time getting clean after struggling with opiates for three years, that I made the choice to get on methadone so that I would have a stable life. There’s such a stigma attached to methadone, but people really dont even take the time to research it. They are incredibly misinformed. But I’ve learned to blow off what people say and just be happy I’m where I am.

I only hope I can help someone else with their addiction to narcotic painkillers, otherwise my terrible ordeal would have been in vain. All I wish for is to get my story across to other readers in the hopes that I can make them realize how much opiates (especially Oxycontin) can destroy your life, or forever alter it.

I know because I’ve been there. It almost destroyed my life.

We Encourage Everyone to Share Their Thoughts with Lulubelle7537

