What Makes a Person Truly Good?

There truly aren’t too many genuinely good people left in this world. I don’t mean nice people. There are plenty of people who are nice, but not necessarily good. “What makes a person good?” Here is, in my opinion, what makes a person good:


~ Anytime there is a decision to be made, they always make the right one, the good one. Not just some of time or even most of the time…they ALWAYS make the right one.


~ Good people go out of their way to help someone, even if it inconveniences them in some or any way for that matter, or financially straps them in some way.


~ Good people don’t get angry or pissed off or certainly not nasty to anyone at any time for any reason.


~ Good people always try to (and usually succeed) say the right thing. Everything that a good person says is well thought out–they don’t put their foot in their mouths–ever.


~ Good people do good things not because of any expectation of something in return or praise or anything at all…they do good things merely for the enjoyment of doing something good for someone else, and nothing more.


~ Good people are always thinking…they take every opportunity they can to do something for someone else, purely for the good. They never have any selfish motives, never think any negative thoughts while doing so, they truly derive enjoyment from doing things for other people.

 

Now, how many people do you know who honestly fit this description? I know plenty of people who do good things; I do good things…but I don’t even know if I fit this mold, though I strive to be a good person. My biggest fault, I will admit, is that I don’t always make the right decisions, and my next biggest fault, sadly, is that I used to have quite a temper and I was the first to admit that; I have at times, shamefully, gotten real nasty with someone getting nasty with me, or yelling at me for no reason. A truly good person would never do that. I have done a lot of work on myself and have gotten rid of my anger…thankfully 🙂

I am currently working on my decision-making abilities, in an attempt to make better choices. I want to be a truly, truly good person. I want to be that person I described earlier. Writing helps me get a lot of feelings out and it also helps me be more self-aware, and it’s the exact self-awareness of which I’m speaking which will help me pinpoint my faults so that I can work on correcting them and, in the long run, be a better person. Being good comes from deep within..from the soul. Being good isn’t something one tries to do; being a good person is just how someone is. Plain and simple. 

 

3 thoughts on “What Makes a Person Truly Good?

  1. Erik Conover says:

    Lulubelle,
    You make some valid points here, and I want to tell you how surprised I was to finally hear someone with the same thinking as I when it comes to what it takes to be a truly good person. Good and “nice”, like you stated, are not the same at all, but there are a lot of people who think they’re one and the same. I saw a funny picture on Facebook recently from rotten cards that said something like, “the older I get, the more I realize I fucking hate people”….that is so right on, because of the mere fact that people are selfish and childish and petty and inconsiderate of others. I am reading a great book about changing your life for the better, becoming a good person, I can’t remember the name off hand, I’m at work, but if you’re interested, let me know and I will tell you the title. I think you would like it. Nice post!

    Erik

    Like

We Encourage Everyone to Share Their Thoughts with Lulubelle7537

